27.05.2021 · In evidence


The breakaway arrives in Stradella, an attack by 24 riders that started after an hour of high intensity race. Filippo Zana fits into the attack of 24 riders and plays well in the final looking for success and taking a good 7th place. Seventh top10 placement for the Bardiani CSF Faizanè team in this Giro.

Filippo Zana closes the eighteenth stage of the Giro d’Italia in seventh position after entering a great action that started after more than an hour of high intensity racing. The fugitives cooperate well until the last 30km of the stage where the first attacks begin. The first one is made by Battistella, together with Filippo Zana. In a succession of attacks, Cavagna first tried the decisive one, but it was Bettiol who found the solitary action that led him to the stage success. Filippo Zana remains in the group of the best behind him, still trying to reach the podium and reaching a top10 placement in the sprint behind the winner of the day Alberto Bettiol.



Filippo Zana: “I am happy to have hit a difficult escape to take like almost all the escapes of this Giro d’Italia. Of course, once there the desire is to gamble for success and for this reason I pursued Battistella’s first action to try to anticipate the group. Then there were shots and counter-shots I tried to always stay with Ulissi who I saw as having a good leg and in fact if it hadn’t been for the great number of Bettiol the group in which I managed to stay would have played the victory. To try to hit the podium I still sprinted one kilometer from the finish but they closed me and then tried the sprint by finishing seventh of the stage.”


For Filippo Zana this is the first top 10 placement in a great Giro, in his second participation in the Giro d’Italia. The young Italian rider born in 1999 this season has already achieved his first success among professionals in the second stage of the Istrian Spring Trophy.

For Bardiani CSF Faizanè this is the seventh place in the top 10 of the stage in this Giro d’Italia.



1 BETTIOL Alberto EF Education – Nippo

2 CONSONNI Simone Cofidis, Solutions Crédits

3 ROCHE Nicolas Team DSM

4 ARNDT Nikias Team DSM

5 ULISSI Diego UAE-Team Emirates

6 BATTISTELLA Samuele Astana – Premier Tech

7 ZANA Filippo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè

8 TESFATSION Natnael Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec

9 CAVAGNA Rémi Deceuninck – Quick Step

10 MOSCA Jacopo Trek – Segafredo