06.08.2021 · In evidence


Great performance by the young rider of Bardiani CSF Faizanè. Already winning in this season both with the team and with the national jersey in the Nations Cup, today he conquers a good second place in a demanding stage behind Nicholas Schulz (Team Bike Exchange). Top10 also for Luca Covili and Davide Gabburo.

3 riders in the top 10, one on the podium. A great stage for Bardiani CSF Faizanè in the Czech Republic at the Sazka Tour. Second demanding stage with over 200km to cover and 3,000m of elevation gain to ride.

After the surprise arrival of the breakaway in the first stage, the Bike Exchange team sets the speed control today, closing on the breakaway of the day. On the final climb begins the decisive selection in which a dozen athletes resist. Among them in evidence Filippo Zana and Luca Covili appeared very brilliant, together with Davide Gabburo coming back in the final.

In the last km the Bike Exchange rider Nicholas Schulz make the difference, gaining 6 seconds over Filippo Zana, final second in the stage.

Luca Covili and Davide Gabburo also did very well, finishing 6th and 7th of the stage respectively 22 ‘behind the leader.


Tomorrow the third challenging stage, in which there is a climb that Filippo Zana knows very well will, having triumphed in June in the Nations Cup with the national team jersey.


These are the words of Filippo Zana after the finish: “Congratulations to Schultz for the victory, I feel I have given my best but he really went faster than everyone else. Of course with my teammates we have shown that we are present until the final. Climbs of this stage race are not finished and the games are open, we will surely try again tomorrow. “



1 SCHULTZ Nick Team BikeExchange

2 ZANA Filippo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè +0:07

3 TAARAMÄE Rein Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux +0:10

4 HIRT Jan Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux +0:17

5 ZOIDL Riccardo Team Felbermayr – Simplon Wels +0:19

6 COVILI Luca Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè +0:22

7 GABBURO Davide Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè +0:23

8 VELASCO Simone Gazprom – RusVelo +0:25

9 PETILLI Simone Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux +0:28

10 VAN DEN BOSSCHE Fabio Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise +0:30