19.05.2021 · In evidence


The rider from Vicenza was able to be in the breakaway of the day. A fall in the final part of the race make him use too much energy to come back. A final good sixth place, for the team it is the fourth top10 placement in this Giro d’Italia, plus the podium of Fiorelli.

Sixth place for Enrico Battaglin in the eleventh stage of the Giro d’Italia. The rider from Vicenza reaching the breakaway of the day made up of 11 climbers, all World Tour athletes, with Enrico Battaglin of Bardiani CSF Faizanè and Gavazzi of team Eolo Kometa.

A regular stage with the breakaway gaining up to 14 minutes of advantage, up to km 92 of the race when the breakaway and then the group tackle the first stretch of dirt road and the pace is increasing exponentially. Enrico Battaglin is good at staying with the leading athletes, while Giovanni Carboni remains in the pink jersey group. In the last 10 km of the race, Covi and Schmid take the lead and at the moment of counterattack the Lotto Soudal rider involves also Enrico Battaglin and Giovanni Gavazzi in a slip, without consequences, but which does not allow him to return to the attackers. A sixth place finish which is the fourth top 10 of the team in these first 11 stages of the Giro d’Italia, in addition to Filippo Fiorelli’s third place.

These are the words of Enrico Battaglin after the finish: “Today being on the breakaway was certainly interesting, so I’m happy to be able to be in the action. The stage was very demanding, both for those in front and for those who faced it from the bunch. On the dirt road the levels are not like on the normal road, it has also been seen a lot behind the gaps of the big names. Too bad about the crash, I had to spend to get back in, but I don’t know if I would have been able to win anyway. I’m growing stage after stage in this Giro d’Italia so I’m happy about it and I will try again for sure in the upcoming stages.”



1 SCHMID Mauro Team Qhubeka ASSOS

2 COVI Alessandro UAE-Team Emirates

3 VANHOUCKE Harm Lotto Soudal

4 DE BONDT Dries Alpecin-Fenix

5 GUGLIELMI Simon Groupama – FDJ

6 BATTAGLIN Enrico Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè

7 KLUGE Roger Lotto Soudal

8 GAVAZZI Francesco EOLO-Kometa

9 VAN DER HOORN Taco Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux

10 NAESEN Lawrence AG2R Citroën Team