30.04.2024 · In evidence


The 8 athletes chosen to form the official team for the most anticipated event of the entire season. Pozzovivo equals Wladimiro Panizza's participation record.

Just a few days before the official start of the Giro d’Italia, scheduled for Saturday, May 4th, the VF Group Bardiani-CSF Faizanè has decided on its lineup. For the team led by Bruno Reverberi, this marks their 42nd participation, an absolute record; no team has ever competed in as many editions of the Giro as the team from Reggio Emilia. Speaking of records, Domenico Pozzovivo makes history by equaling Wladimiro Panizza’s record of eighteen participations in the pink race. The eight selected athletes are: Domenico Pozzovivo, Giulio Pellizzari, Enrico Zanoncello, Alessandro Tonelli, Filippo Fiorelli, Martin Marcellusi, Luca Covili, and Manuele Tarozzi.

Here are the statements from the sports director and team manager Roberto Reverberi: “The goal is stage victory, but we also aim to focus on the general classification with Pozzovivo. We are counting a lot on Pellizzari, who despite his young age, has shown great potential at the Tour of the Alps. There is great camaraderie and team spirit, and we are eager to perform well; we have full confidence in our athletes.”

Therefore, Domenico Pozzovivo will be the designated captain for the Giro d’Italia and will be responsible for the overall classification. Starting the pink race will be the duo Tonelli-Tarozzi, who provided excitement with their splendid victory in the first stage of the Volta Valenciana. For Alessandro Tonelli, this is his fifth participation, while for the Faentino Manuele Tarozzi, it will be his absolute debut at the Giro.

It is also the first time for the Marche native Giulio Pellizzari, an athlete who provided excitement in the recent Tour of the Alps, finishing eighth in the final standings and narrowly missing out on victory in the third stage.

Riders with a fast pace have also been selected, such as Enrico Zanoncello, an athlete who broke through in Europe by winning the first stage of the Giro d’Abruzzo Crèdit Agricole, and Filippo Fiorelli, who last year secured a podium finish in the final stage won by Mark Cavendish.

Completing the lineup are Luca Covili from Modena and Martin Marcellusi from Rome, determined to complete the Giro d’Italia in “his” city, the only Roman rider on the startlist. Leading the athletes from the team car are Roberto Reverberi, Alessandro Donati, Luca Amoriello, and Mirko Rossato.